Learn About Our Global Carbon Pricing Conference for Youth

Learn About Our Global Carbon Pricing Conference for Youth

We believe that imagination and youth are powerful elements for generating political will for a liveable world. We are bringing them together at a global conference in September. At this conference we are debuting the fantastical radio play “Save Our Ice” produced by thespians from Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland. Then after sparking their imagination we will be training and supporting youth and young adults who are keen to become carbon pricing champions.

Learn more about our September conference on Wednesday, August 4*.  Choose a time that is  convenient for you:

  • Time One: 8 am EDT = noon UTC
  • Time Two: 2 pm EDT = 6 pm UTC
  • Time Three: 8 pm EDT = 5 pm PDT  = * Thursday outside of the Americas

You can also peruse this document to learn more: Youth Conference 

MORE ABOUT THE ACTUAL CONFERENCE

Dates and Times

Two dates to choose from and you only attend one:

  • Friday, September 10, 2021
    11 am PDT / 2 pm EDT / 6 pm UTC / 7pm WAT, BST  / 8 pm CAT,CEST / 9 pm EAT / 6 am NZST
    Convert to your time zone here
  • Saturday, September 11, 2021
    5 am EDT / 9 am UTC / 2:00 pm PKT / 2:30 pm IST / 3 pm BST / 6 pm JST / 7 pm AEST/ 9 pm NZST
    Convert to your time zone here

 

The Certificate

The youth participants will attain a certificate upon the completion of 5 of 7 actions:

  1. Attends the September conference  and files a report in the Action Tracker on CCL Community
  2. Fills in a testimonial on why they support climate income that we can post on our local, national and CCI social media channels and websites
  3. Creates a short video that we can post on our local, national and CCI social media channels and websites
  4. Appears in the mainstream news either TV, radio, or print and provides us with a web link or other proof of publication such as a photo and files a report in the Action Tracker on CCL Community
  5. Creates a capstone document about carbon pricing in their country and files that report in the Action Tracker on CCL Community
  6. Organizes an event and files that report in the Action Tracker on CCL Community
  7. Lobbies a politician and/or asks a question to a politician at a town hall and files a report in the Action Tracker on CCL Community

IMPORTANT
1. CCL/CCI groups will be assisting the youth and young adults.
2. It is understood that except in pre-approved circumstances the focus of the work will be climate income.

Registration

Registration for youth and young adults will open August 1,  and will close August 14 and will be limited to 50 people.  Priority will be given to youth in our groups around the world. Contact cathy@citizensclimate.org to receive the registration. A waiting list will be developed.

The first half of the conference will be open to general public and will be of interest to many. There will be a separate registration that should open up in early August.

Conference Agenda

The conference has two parts:

  • Part I – 55 minutes in plenary for an imaginative and empowering event in a Zoom Webinar open to the public.
    Five minute break to get to the next Zoom Room
  • Part II – 90 minutes of workshops for youth, young adults, and their helpers to help them prepare for attaining the certificate.

More details coming soon.

Time One

Time Two

Time Three

How to convert to your time zone:

  1. Calculating your conversion using the UTC times for your region.
  2. When you save the event to your email calendar.
  3. By going here.
  4. Directly on the registration form on Zoom. Look near the bottom of the registration form where it says “Time shows in” and change it to your time zone.